John Waters In Conversation With Jeff Koon

John Waters/ Jeff Koon

 

 “But you never felt alienated by art? I remember when I first went to the Baltimore Museum, I bought a little Múro print and brought it home. All the other kids said, ‘Ugh, that’s ugly. Why would you put that ugly thing on your wall?’ I thought, ‘Ah, the power of art.’ It really made me feel glad that everyone hated me. And as a kid, I used to pretend I was nude descending the staircase. I would come down the steps nude and only I knew. That’s what I meant by a secret art life.”

Leave a Reply

